ICAS full form

Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS) – A Detailed Information And Functions
ICAS stands for Indian Civil Accounts Service was established in 1976 as one of the ‘Group A’ services to provide accounting and auditing services to the Indian government. The Indian Civil Accounts Organization, a division of the Ministry of Finance, is in charge of the organization. The roles and responsibilities of ICAS and wage grades, probationary periods, and career changes are all described in detail in this paper.
This service is a member of the Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS), which falls under the Civil Services Group ‘A’ and reports, to the Union Ministry of Finance’s Department of Expenditure. It is headed by the Controller General of Accounts (CGA). It collaborates with the Indian Civil Accounts Organization to provide financial management solutions to the Indian government and other organizations. This organization provides payment services, assists with tax collection, performs accounting and financial reporting responsibilities for the entire government, prepares budget projections, and conducts internal audits in the civil ministries of the Union Government. Starting indian civil accounts service salary is very good.
Criteria for obtaining a position in the Indian Civil Accounts Service
There are the same prerequisites for eligibility for the Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS full form) as there are for other civil service exams:
1. The candidate’s nationality must fall into one of the categories listed below.
• A person of Indian origin
• A subject with a Nepalese background
• A Bhutanese citizen or national, or
• The applicant’s ancestors must be of Pakistani, Burmese, Sri Lankan, Malawian, Zimbabwean, or Vietnamese descent to establish a permanent residence in India.
Such candidates/individuals are permitted to sit for the exam before acquiring the certificate of eligibility. The offer of appointment would be extended to them only once the Government of India has published the document in the official gazette.
2. Qualifications in the academic field:
• To be eligible for the Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS) test, you must have the following minimum qualifications: A Bachelor’s degree from a government-approved university or an equivalent qualification is required of the candidate.
• In addition, those who are in their final year of study and have not yet taken their final exam or are awaiting results may apply to take the UPSC preliminary examination. As part of their application for the mains exam, all such candidates must submit proof demonstrating that they passed the previously mentioned exam.
• For qualified applicants having recognized professional and technical qualifications in the required stream, or comparable qualifications recognized by the Indian government, they can apply.
3. The maximum age is:
Candidates must be between the ages to sit for the UPSC CSE exam. The Age Limit is a significant component of the Eligibility requirements. Because of this, applicants for the icas upsc exam should double-check their details before submitting an online application.
The UPSC CSE 2022 (ICAS Exam) is expected to take place in stages:
1. Preliminary Examination (preliminary examination)
2. The Main Examination
3. Evaluation of Personal Characteristics
Successful civil service exam candidates are allocated to a service based on their rank and must participate in specific training. It is possible to divide the ICAS training program into three stages:
1. ICAS officers must complete a six-month basic training program at the National Institute of Financial Management (NIFM) in Faridabad before being eligible for the promotion. As part of this, there will be travel to a foreign country.
2. The second step of the training process is carried out by the Institute of Government Accounts and Finance (IGAF) (INGAF)
3. Three levels of training were completed, the third of which was on-the-job training (OJT) in one of the 87 Pay & Accounts offices located around the country.
The Indian Civil Accounts Service has several roles and responsibilities (ICAS)
1. Development of accounting procedures, processes, and forms for the Union of India and its constituent states.
2. A framework and optimization process was applied to develop and optimize manuals, regulations, and processes for accounting receipts and payments in compliance with the Government Accounting Rules, 1990.
3. Monthly and annual financial statements and audits of income, deficits, and borrowings are produced.
4. The development and implementation of human resource augmentation programs for service and allied organizations, in addition to the coordination of management accounting systems in civil ministries.
What kinds of training opportunities are available?
Individuals who have been selected are provided with training opportunities in several settings. Candidates must initially finish a ten-month training program at the National Institute of Financial Management (NIFM) in Faridabad and the National Academy of Direct Taxes (Nagpur) (Nagpur). Afterward, students are allocated to the Institute of Government Accounts and Finance (INGAF), where they will be trained in the field on the job. Candidates may also be assigned to a training program in another nation.
What exactly are the responsibilities and obligations of an ICAS officer?
The primary responsibility of an ICAS officer is to promote excellence in public finance management to improve governance. The following are the primary responsibilities of an ICAS officer:
• Establish and maintain efficient and trustworthy budgeting, payment, and accounting system.
• Provide a top-of-the-line, well-integrated financial information system.
• Establish new internal auditing standards to promote greater transparency and accountability.
• Take advantage of all available information and communication technology to achieve your goals and objectives.
• Establish and maintain professional integrity by enlisting the assistance of a dedicated team that is committed to the service concept.